English 2 Summer 2016 Schedule

Section 94511

Assignments on the right should be completed before midnight prior to date on the left.

ATRQ = Asking the Right Questions

BR  = Burning Rage of a Dying Planet

This Schedule is subject to change. Check it regularly.

updated 6/7/2016

Date

Assignment Due

Monday, June 13

Course Begins
Read English 2 Syllabus
Review English 2 Schedule

ATRQ Preface
BR Prologue


  Friday, June 17   ATRQ chapters 1-4
  BR
chapters 1-4
 "The Ballot or the Bullet"
 "Letter from Birmingham Jail"
  ATRQ Practice Passage 3 pages 30 and 41.
  Discussion 1

Monday, June 20

 

Essay 1: Issues and Conclusions

Last day to request Pass/No pass option

  Friday, June 24
  ATRQ chapter 5 
  BR
prologue, chapters 5-7 and 14
  James Jarboe's Testimony
  John Lewis's Testimony
  Watch or read V for Vendetta
 
ATRQ Practice Passage 3 page 55
  Discussion 2
 

Monday, June 27

Essay 2: Language


  Friday, July1 
  ATRQ chapter 6
  BR chapters 8-11
  Watch High Noon
  View V for Vendetta again

  "What Should I Consider Before Becoming A Police Officer?"

  "Why Would Anyone Want to Be A Cop?"

  Quaker Information Center

  Law Enforcement Code of Ethics

  PETA Statement

  Earth First!

  ATRQ Practice Passage 3 page 73

  Discussion 3

Monday, July 4

Holiday - Independence Day


Tuesday, July 5

Essay 3:  Value Conflict


  Friday, July 8   ATRQ chapters 8-11
  Watch An Inconvenient Truth
 
ATRQ Practice Passage 3 pages 104, 123, 136-137, 146
  Discussion 4

Monday, July 11

Essay 4: Evidence

Last day to withdraw


  Friday, July 15
  ATRQ chapters 7, 12-13
  BR chapters 12-16
 
ATRQ Practice Passage 3 pages 89,155-156, 163
  Discussion 5

Monday, July 18-Friday, July 22

Essay 5: Comprehensive Analysis