English 1A Schedule Spring, 2015


Assignments listed on the right should be completed before midnight on the due date.

S.U.S. =
Science Under Siege.

P.S.M. = Pocket Style Manual.

Due Date

Assignment Due

Monday, January 26

Course Begins
Review Syllabus
Begin "How to Mark a Book"
Begin Essay 1: Article Summary
Begin
S.U.S. pp. 65-77

Monday, February 2

Finish "How to Mark a Book"
Quiz 1: Syllabus Review
Quiz 2: How to Mark a Book
Discussion 1: Introduce Yourself
Course Notes: The Writing Process

Finish S.U.S. pp. 65-77
Groundhog Day

Sunday, February 8
Last Day to Drop without W grade.

Monday, February 9

"How to Say Nothing in 500 Words"
Kurt Vonnegut on Writing
from Palm Sunday.
Discussion 2: Compare Vonnegut and Roberts
Discussion 3: Ethics
Essay Draft 1 Due
Pocket Style Manual pp. 1-15

Lectures 4, 4 Addendum and 5

Friday, February 13 Lincoln's Birthday Holiday

Monday, February 16 President's Day Holiday

Tuesday, February 17

Essay 1: Article Summary Due
Pocket Style Manual pp. 1-15
Lectures 4, 4 Addendum and 5
Begin Essay 2: Evolution
Begin Evolution and Human Equality parts I-V

Monday, February 23

 S.U.S. pp. 91-132
Finish Evolution and Human Equality parts I-V
Discussion 4: Society and Science
Quiz 3: Intelligent Design
Quiz 4: Summarize Evolutionary Myths
 NASA Chart on Scientific Method

Saturday, February 28 Last day to request pass/no-pass option

Monday, March 2

Read Fallacious Arguments
Read Logical Fallacies from Purdue OWL
Quiz 5: Logical Fallacies
Essay Draft 2

Watch A.S.S. Method Powerpoint
Read
Lectures 4, 4 Addendum and 5

Monday, March 9

Essay 2: Evolution Due
Begin Essay 3: Health Concerns
Apply Lectures 4, 4 Addendum and 5

Monday, March 16

 S.U.S. pp. 185-197, 290-297, 318-328
Quiz 6: Problems with Healing Methods
Discussion 5: Vaccinations
Discussion 6: Alternative Medicine

Monday, March 23

Essay Draft 3 Due
S.U.S. pp. 252-267
Discussion 7: Prayer and Healing
Read Lecture 6, Quoting part 1
Review Lectures 4, 4 Addendum

March 30-April 4
Spring Break

Monday, April 6

Essay 3: Health Concerns Due
Begin Essay 4: The Paranormal
Begin The Secrets of Psychics

Monday, April 13

Finish The Secrets of Psychics
S.U.S. pp. 84-88, 268-288, 298-310, 329-356
Quiz 7: Misplaced Rationalism
Read "Methods in Psychology"

Quiz 8: Anomalous Cognition
 

Monday, April 20

Essay Draft 4 Due
Begin Research Report

Quiz 9: Topic Proposal
Read / review
P.S.M. pages 88-118
S.U.S. pp. 357-361
Discussion 8: Patently False
 

Saturday, April 25
Last day to drop a full-term section with a grade of "W."

Monday, April 27

Essay 4: The Paranormal Due
Continue Research Report

Read / review P.S.M. pages 88-118
Continue Research
Read "The Charms of Wikipedia"
Read Huffington Post article on plagiarism
Discussion 9: Plagiarism and Wikipedia

Monday, May 4

Quiz 10: Source summary
Read Sample Essay 1

Read Sample Essay 2
Discussion 10: Comparison of Sample Essays
P.S.M. pages 121-162

Monday, May 11

Research Report Draft Due
P.S.M. pages 121-162


Monday, May 18

Research Report Due

Wednesday, May 27
Grades Available on WebAdvisor