English 100 Schedule

Subject to change.
Page numbers and chapters refer to Focus on Writing: Paragraphs and Essays.
Additional readings will be assigned individually from Unit 4 of Focus on Writing.

Updated 8/19/2018.

Date

Assignment Due

Monday, August 27

Class Begins

Wednesday, Aug. 29

Discussion 1: Introductions
pages 1-3, 39-40, 668, 671, 718 (parts of speech)

Friday, August 31

Chapter 1 (pages 4-25)

Monday, Sept. 3

Labor Day Holiday

Tuesday, Sept. 4

Chapters 17-19, pages 322-360

Wednesday, Sept. 5

Discussion 2: School
"The Sanctuary of School," pages 245-247
"Taking My Parents to College," pages 627-631

Friday, Sept. 7

Chapters 2 and 3 pages 27-73

Wednesday, Sept. 12

Chapter 5, pages 84-92
Chapter 13, pages 175-215
Chapter 15b, pages 238-247

Thursday, Sept. 13

Instructor Contact 1

Monday, Sept. 17

Journal 1
Chapter 14, pages 216-226

Monday, Sept. 24

School Essay Due

Wednesday, Sept. 26

Discussion 3: Community
Chapter 9, pages 129-139
Chapter 16A, pages 276-288

Thursday, Sept. 27

Instructor Contact 2
Appendix A-4, pages 672-674

Friday, Sept. 28

pages 625-627
Timed Writing 1

Monday, Oct. 1

Journal 2

Friday, Oct. 5

pages 294-299
Timed Writing 2
Pass/No Pass Notification Deadline

Monday, Oct. 8

The Neighborhood Essay due

Wednesday, Oct. 10

Discussion 4 Argument
Chapter 12, pages 160-172
Chapter 16d, pages 308-320

Thursday, Oct. 11

Instructor Contact 3

Friday, Oct. 12

pages 651-654
Timed Writing 3

Friday, Oct. 19

pages 664-667
Timed Writing 4

Monday, Oct. 22

Journal 3

Friday, Oct. 26

pages 306-307
Timed Writing 5

Monday, Oct. 29

What's The Problem Essay due

Thursday, Nov. 1

Instructor Contact 4
Chapter 8, pages 115-128
Chapter 15e, pages 266-275

Friday, Nov. 2

pages 660-663
Timed Writing 6

Monday, Nov. 5

Journal 4

Friday, Nov.9

pages 234-238
Timed Writing 7

Monday, Nov. 12

Veterans' Day Holiday

Friday, Nov. 16

pages 263-265
Timed Writing 8

Saturday, Nov. 17

Last Day to drop with W grade

Monday. Nov. 19

Comparison/Contrast Essay Due

November 22-23

Thanksgiving Holiday

Wednesday, Nov. 28

Discussion 5 (Portfolio)

Thursday, Nov. 29

Instructor Contact 5

Friday, Nov. 30

pages 631-635
Timed Writing 9

Monday, Dec. 3

Journal 5

Friday, Dec. 7

pages 627-631, 635-638
Timed Writing 10

Monday, Dec. 10

Portfolio with Timed Writing

Saturday, Dec. 15

Semester Ends

Wednesday, Dec. 19

Grades Available on WebAdvisor