Astro 4 - Stars, Galaxies, and the Universe

9:30-11am Mon/Wed Section - Spring '17 Schedule

UCSC: Institute for Geophysics and Planetary Physics Friday Seminar Schedule

GreenSteps - Cabrillo College Sustainability Calendar of Events

Apr 22 Saturday - last day to withdraw and receive a "W". After this, you receive a grade no matter what -I have no choice.

Mon Jan 23: Introduction, syllabus, bits of Ch 1, Chapter 0 - Principles of Clear Thinking and Scientific Method
Web Jan 25: Chapter 0 - Principles of Clear Thinking and Scientific Method, On Teaching, Ch 3.5,4: Astrology - why it's bogus
Mon Jan 30: Chap 3 - Kepler and Historical Astronomy
Wed Feb 1: Ch 4 - Forces and Gravity
Mon Feb 6: Ch 4 - Newton: Forces and Gravity (Census day)
Wed Feb 8: Ch 5 - Light and Matter
Mon Feb 13: Ch 5 - Light and Matter, Ch 6 - Telescopes and Detectors, Quiz #1: Chap 0, On Teaching, 1, 3
Mon Feb 13 6pm - "Waves Passing in the Night" - extra credit opportunity at UCSC
Wed Feb 15:
Ch S1,2 - Einstein and Modern Gravity
Extra-Credit lecture: UCSC Physics Colloquium: Thursday, February 16th, 3:45 pm - 4:55 pm, Thimann Lecture Hall 1. "The Solar Dynamo: Successes, Failures, and Alternatives"
Mon Feb 20: President's Day Holiday - no class
Wed Feb 23: Ch 14 - The Sun, Hydrogen Fusion
Mon Feb 27: Ch 14 - The Sun, Structure, Solar Wind
Tue Feb 28: 6:30-7:30pm at Cabrillo Observatory: Our Extra Credit Star Party opportunity. Stay the hour and get 1% added to your grade. Click link and see the map of how to get there. If cloudy, we'll try again later.

Wed Mar 1: Ch 15 - Surveying the Stars, Quiz #2: Chap 4, 5, 6, bits of Chap S1,2
Mon Mar 6: Ch 15 - Surveying the Stars
Wed Mar 8: Ch 15 - Surveying the Stars
**ExtraCredit lecture opportunity - Wed Mar 8 - 4:30pm at UCSC Jack Baskin Engineering Rm 101 - Bob Kirchner "Science in a Time of Accelerating Turbulence"
**ExtraCredit lecture opportunity - Thur Mar 9 - 3:45pm at UCSC Thimann 1, "New Theory Tools to unveil the mystery of Dark Matter" Francsco D'Eramo of UCSC
Mon Mar 13: History Channel's "Secrets of the Sun" video (52 min) and video quiz
Wed Mar 15: Ch 16 - The Birth of Stars, Ch 17 - Stellar Evolution - Low and Medium Mass Stars, Quiz #3: Chap 14, 15
Thur Mar 16 - 7:00pm ExtraCredit film viewing "Force of Nature: The David Suzuki Story" in Watsonville
Mon Mar 20: Spring Break - no class
Wed Mar 22: Spring Break - no class

Wed Mar 22: Extra Credit lecture opportunity - the Kraw Lecture by UCSC's Jonathan Fortney "How Common is the Earth?" on his work in the Kepler Mission, in Santa Clara.
Mon Mar 27: Ch 17, 18 - Stellar Evolution - Low and Medium Mass Stars
Wed Mar 29:
Ch 17, 18 - Stellar Evolution - Binary Stars Evolution, Novae, High Mass Stars
Mon Apr 3:
Ch 18 - Stellar Death - Supernovae, High Mass Stars, White Dwarfs, Neutron Stars, Black Holes
Wed Apr 5:
Chap 19 - Our Milky Way Galaxy
Thur Apr 6 - ExtraCredit Opportunity: 7pm at the Live Oak Grange 1900 17th Ave, educational presentation on climate change and climate action, by Santa Cruz Climate Action Network
Mon Apr 10: Ch 19 - Our Milky Way Galaxy,
Wed Apr 12: Ch 20,21 - Galaxy types, Galaxy evolution, video clip on colliding galaxies.Quiz #4: Chap 16-18
Mon Apr 17: History Channel "Universe" series video "The Milky Way Galaxy" and video quiz.
Wed Apr 19: Ch 21 - Galaxy evolution, and Ch 22 - Quasars and Giant Black Holes. Dark Matter
Thur Apr 20 at 6:45-9pm Extra Credit! My public Climate Talk at Erica Schilling Auditorium at Cabrillo, Rm 450: "Post-IPCC Climate Science: A Darker Frame for our Options"
Fri Apr 21 - 7:00pm ExtraCredit film viewing "How to Let Go of the World", on confronting climate change. In Watsonville
Sat Apr 22 - last day to withdraw and receive a "W". After this, you must take a grade. Instructor has no choice.
Mon Apr 24: Ch 22 - Dark Matter, Dark Energy, Large Scale Structure
Wed Apr 26: Chap 22 - Dark Matter, Dark Energy, Large Scale Structure
Sat Apr 29 - Star Party at UCSC for extra credit. Take photos while you're there and then show them to me for your credit.
Mon May 1:
Ch 23 - Cosmology: Evidence for the Big Bang
Wed May 3: Ch 22, 23 - Cosmology: The Big Bang and Inflation Quiz #5: Ch 19-21
Mon May 8:
Ch 23, 24 - the Multi-verse, the Anthropic Principle, Existence of Life and implications for the Nature of the Universe
Wed May 10: Video “Nova: The Runaway Universe” and video quiz

late opportunities for Extra Credit outside lectures:
--- Those at UCSC Astro/Planetary this week
--- Thur May 11: agriculture and climate discussion panel at downtown Santa Cruz


Mon May 15: 8-10am: Finals Week: Note 8am, not 7am!: Quiz #6: Ch 22-24 and Final Exam