Astro 4 - Stars, Galaxies, and the Universe

6-9pm Mon Section - Spring '12 Schedule

Mon Feb 6: Introduction, syllabus, Chapter 0 - Principles of Clear Thinking and Scientific Method

Mon Feb 13: Finish Chapter 0, Ch 3,4: Early Astronomy, Gravity

Mon Feb 27: Ch 4 - Newton: Forces and Gravity. Ch 5 - Light and Matter, Quiz #1: Chap 0, 1, 3

Mon Mar 5: Ch 5 - Light and Matter, Ch 6 - Telescopes and Detectors, Ch S1,2 - Einstein and Modern Gravity.

Mon Mar 12: Ch 14 - The Sun, Hydrogen Fusion, Structure, Solar Wind, Quiz #2: Chap 4, 5, 6, bits of S1,2

Mon Mar 19: Ch 15 - Surveying the Stars

Mon Mar 26: Ch 16 - The Birth of Stars, Quiz #3: Ch 14, 15. Ch 16,17 Stellar Evolution - Low and Medium Mass Stars

Mon Apr 2: Ch 17,18 Stellar Evolution - High Mass Stars, Stellar Death - White Dwarfs, Neutron Stars, Black Holes

Mon Apr 16: Video "The Life and Death of Stars" and video quiz (on YouTube: here) , Ch 19- Our Milky Way Galaxy, Quiz #4: Chap 16-18

Mon Apr 23: Ch 20,21 - Galaxy types, Galaxy evolution, video clip on colliding galaxies, Quasars and Giant Black Holes

Mon Apr 30: Ch 22 - Dark Matter, Dark Energy, Large Scale Structure

Mon May 7: Ch 23 - Cosmology: Evidence for the Big Bang. Quiz #5: Ch 19-21

Thur May 10 7pm - Extra Credit Public Lecture: I give a photo presentation on my experiences as part of the ground team for the Hayabusa Mission in Australia in '10 to the Santa Cruz Astronomy Club meeting at the scout house at Harvey West Park.

Mon May 14: Ch 23, 24- Cosmology, Inflation. Alternate Universes, the Anthropic Principle, and Life. Video “Nova – The Runaway Universe” and video quiz

Mon June 3 6-9pm: FINAL EXAMS WEEK.... Quiz #6: Ch 22-24 and Final Exam