Events on the Cabrillo Astronomy Calendar

As of Sep 16, '16. Check out past events here.

Asteroid Occ Predictions: Steve Preston's , Derek Breit's , Calif Path Maps , SF Extra Event , Brad Timerson's , Report Template

Software: Using AVIsynth , TANGRA , Making Aladin Finder Charts , Limiting Mag , Registax and Occ Video

Making C2A Charts

My "HowTo" on Reducing Asteroid Occultations , Reported Asteroid Occulations

Equipment: Watec 910HX , my Watec Tests , Video astrometry , PC165DNR , Video recording

Upcoming Grazes , Lunar Phases , Driving Distance Calculator , Remote Control of PC165DNR

Free WiFi hotspots in California , Comet /DSO Photo Op's
M67 Mag Chart , ToBuy

 

Oct 1 Sat morn - pre-trip meeting for Astro 25
Oct 1 Sat eve - Occultation of 10.3 star by Laplace, from Pt Reyes, high rank. path map

Oct 3 Mon morn 5am - Occultation of 12.4 star by Asporino, from Santa Cruz, good rank, 21% odds from Morgan Hill.

Oct 4 Tue eve 11:09pm - Occultation of 9.7 star by Patientia, 44% odds from Morgan Hill.

Oct 8 Sat night 7:38pm PDT - Astro 25 field astro class, built around graze of 6.2 1.1s 49+ moon 35deg alt, from Redwood cmpg at Giant Sequioa Nat. Mon. Also, occultation of 10.3 star by Quinghi from Yosemite, unlikely from Giant Sequoia, and also occultation by Brita from San Gabriel Mtns and perhaps too far south at 5am?

Oct 9 Sun eve 7pm - Occultation of 8.1 by Godel, sun -6, odds 9% from Morgan Hill. After return from Astro 25. Timed about right for download!

Oct 12 - deadline for grant applications

Oct 14 Fri eve 8:33pm - Occultation of 10.2 star by Catriona, from Mercy Hot Spr and east. Full moon 47 deg away. Yosemite photo weekend??

Oct 15 - Low Key Hill Climb: San Gregorio->McDonald 28km

Oct 18 Tue eve 10:20pm - Graze of Aldebaren 12n 86- 15 deg up, from Baldwin Hills LA, Apple Valley, or near Pisgah Crater.

Oct 19 Wed morn 3:19am - Occultation of 12.4 star by Galilea, from SF, Santa Cruz inside 1 sig zone, decent rank

Oct 21 Fri morn 12:10am - Occultation of 12.2 star from Russian River

Oct 27 Thur eve 7pm - Occultation of 12.1 star by Joensuu, from Pt Reyes north? but 32% odds from Morgan Hill

Oct 31 Mon morn 4:25am - Occultation of 9.1 star by asteroid Jones, 19% odds from Morgan Hill

Nov 4 Fri eve - Graze of 6.3 1.4s of 24+ moon, from 5n of Pinnacles and Mercy Hot Springs

Nov 5 - Low Key Hill Climb: Mines Rd

Nov 11 Fri morn 5:20am - Occultation of 11.9 star (11.4 combined) by Circe. Santa Cruz near northern limit, odds given as 91% from Morgan Hill on Derek's site

Nov 11 Fri eve 10:14pm - Occultation of 11.6 star by Russia, centrally across Aptos

Nov 12 Sat - Low Key Hill Climb: Old Santa Cruz Rd to Summit through Chemeketa Park

Nov 19 Sat - Low Key Hill Climb: 5.8 miles 2280 ft Page Mill area

Nov 22 2:30am - Occultation of 9.1 star by Chaucer, from Pt. Reyes

Nov 24 Thur Thanksgiving: Low Key Hill Climb - Mt Hamilton

Nov 27 12:30am - Occultation of 12.2 star by Carlova, high rank, from Hayward. Aptos on southern limit

2017

Mar 3 Fri 3:15pm - Graze of 4.1 near Carrizo Plain - possible Astro 25? Aldebaren occ 8:18pm that night.

Mar 31/Apr 2 - possible Astro 25 at Carrizo. Gamma Tau occultation (graze in Orange County to Palomar or so)

 

back to Rick's home page