Events on the Cabrillo Astronomy Calendar

As of Feb 12, '16. Check out past events here.

Asteroid Occ Predictions: Steve Preston's , Derek Breit's , Calif Path Maps , SF Extra Event , Brad Timerson's , Report Template

Software: Using AVIsynth , TANGRA , Making Aladin Finder Charts , Limiting Mag , Registax and Occ Video

Making C2A Charts

My "HowTo" on Reducing Asteroid Occultations , How to Report Asteroid Occulations

Equipment: Watec 910HX , my Watec Tests , Video astrometry , PC165DNR , Video recording

Upcoming Grazes , Lunar Phases , Driving Distance Calculator , Remote Control of PC165DNR

Free WiFi hotspots in California , Comet /DSO Photo Op's
M67 Mag Chart , ToBuy

Feb 15 Mon afternoon (holiday) - Hyades and Aldebaren occultation after dark - and good daylight graze of 3.7 Gamma Tauri star 6s 58+ moon, sun +18 from Carrizo Plain - President's weekend possible fun trip. Planning page

Feb 19-21 Banff Mtn Film Festival at the Rio Theater

Feb 26-27 Fri/Sat - 3rd Annual Climate Conference at UCSC College 9,10

Mar 3 Thur eve 9:30pm - Occultation of 10.9 star by Andorea, from Monterey to Carrizo Plain, high rank

Mar 5 Sat morn 4am - Occultation of 11.0 star by Caia at 14 deg altitude, from Pt Reyes

Mar 12 11:00 Pikes Peak registration opens! Maybe get Di to reg for you? You'll be busy.

Mar 12 Sat - Solvang Century Ride
Mar 12 Sat - SC County Science Fair Judging

Mar 16 Wed morn 12:49am - Graze of 5.9 6n 56+ alt=10, from near Hayward, CA.

Mar 16 Wed 5:30pm - Rm 511 health screening for 10 minutes (choloesteral, blood sugar, BMI)
Mar 16 Wed 6:45pm - Public showing of "Merchants of Doubt" in Cabrillo room 806 - Extra Credit opportunity for Astro 4,7 students!

Mar 17 Thur eve 8pm - Occultation of 9.5 star by Silesia, from Big Sur

Mar 19 Sat 8:30am - Pre-trip for Pinnacles Astro 27

Mar 31 Thur eve 9:30pm - Occultation of 10.0 star by Treshnikov, mediocre rank, Aptos on 1-sig line.

Apr 8-10 Fri-Sun - Astro 27/Geo 27 Pinnacles Field class at Pinnacles National Park.

Apr 16 Sat eve - Occultation of 9.3 star by Renauxa, from Carrizo Plain, rank 47, only 4deg from 79% moon.

Apr 22 Fri eve 6:30-9:30 "Hands-on Astronomy" at Cabrillo

Apr 29 Fri eve 6:30-9:30pm "Hands-on Astronomy" at Cabrillo

May 11 Wed eve 11:30pm - Occultation of 10.2 star by Suleika from Big Sur (only!), high rank

May 15 Sun morn 3:38am - Occultation of 11.1 combined (12.7 ast, 11.7 star, 1.5 drop) by Tolosa, rank 80, from Carrizo Plain

May 16 Mon morn 4am - Occultation of 11.7 combined (12.1 +12.1) by Melete, "sure thing" rank 99 central across Aptos.

Jun 24-26 - Astro 25 Summer Field Astronomy course

Jun 28 Tue eve - Occultation of 12.1 star by Riga, good rank, from Bay Area.

Jul 9 - June Lake Triathlon

Aug 5 - all 5 planets visible with moon very near Jupiter, in eve sky. Good opportunity with fisheye lens.

Aug 10 Wed morn 2am - Occultation of 11.3 star by Andromach, from Mt Pinos south and Southern Sierra, like Quaking Aspen

Aug ~16 Pikes Peak Ascent/Marathon

Aug 30 Tue morn 5am - Occultation of 8.3 star from Monterey Bay Area , new moon.

Aug 30-Sept 4 (Tue-Sun) - Barcroft Research Station expedition

Sept 5 Mon morn - Occultation of 7.0 star, low rank, from Carrizo Plain, followed by Pier to Peak Half Marathon in Santa Barbara, if Barcroft plans allow this grueling option

Sep 11 Sun eve 9pm - Occultation of 10.5 star by Velleda from Russian River area north, decent rank

Sep 17 Sat eve 8pm - Occultation of 11.3 star by Cantabia, from Gorman east. 62 sec long

Sep 26 Sun - Mt Diablo Challenge hill climb

Oct 1 Sat morn - pre-trip meeting for Astro 25
Oct 1 Sat eve - Occultation of 10.3 star by Laplace, from Pt Reyes, high rank.

Oct 3 Mon morn 5am - Occultation of 12.4 star by Asporino, from Santa Cruz, good rank

Oct 8 Sat night 7:38pm PDT - Astro 25 field astro class, built around graze of 6.2 1.1s 49+ moon 35deg alt, from Redwood cmpg at Giant Sequioa Nat. Mon. Also, occultation of 10.3 star by Quinghi from Yosemite, unlikely from Giant Sequoia, and also occultation by Brita from San Gabriel Mtns and perhaps too far south at 5am?

Oct 14 Fri eve 8:33pm - Occultation of 10.2 star by Catriona, from Mercy Hot Spr and east. Full moon 47 deg away. Yosemite photo weekend??

Oct 18 Tue eve 10:20pm - Graze of Aldebaren 12n 86- 15 deg up, from Baldwin Hills LA, or near Pisgah Crater.

Oct 19 Wed morn 3:19am - Occultation of 12.4 star by Galilea, from SF, Santa Cruz inside 1 sig zone, decent rank

Oct 21 Fri morn 12:10am - Occultation of 12.2 star from Russian River

Oct 27 Thur eve 7pm - Occultation of 12.1 star by Joensuu, from Pt Reyes north

Nov 4 Fri eve - Graze of 6.3 1.4s of 24+ moon, from 5n of Pinnacles

Nov 11 Fri morn 5:20am - Occultation of 11.9 star (11.4 combined) by Circe. Santa Cruz on northern limit

Nov 11 Fri eve 10:14pm - Occultation of 11.6 star by Russia, centrally across Aptos

Nov 22 2:30am - Occultation of 9.1 star by Chaucer, from Pt. Reyes

Nov 27 12:30am - Occultation of 12.2 star by Carlova, high rank, from Hayward. Aptos on southern limit

 

back to Rick's home page