Skip to Site Navigation | Skip to Local Navigation | Skip to Content

cabrillo signSafety Committee


Safety/Emergency Preparedness Home Page

Staff, student, and visitor safety is a primary concern of the Governing Board and Administration of Cabrillo College. The District’s obligation is to provide and maintain safe working and learning conditions and equipment at all times, and to comply with standards prescribed by applicable state and local laws and regulations. Prevention of accidents to staff, students, and visitors is the responsibility of all levels of administration, including division chairpersons, department heads and supervisors. Their leadership and participation is expected in all safety and health related activities. Safety must always be an integral part of any function or work performed. To meet this obligation, a Safety and Health Program shall be established and maintained. See Board Policy 3500 for more information.

The Safety Committee is divided into subcommittees to provide a more hands-on approach to the specific issues related to campus safety. All subcommittee chairpersons serve on the Safety Committee. Subcommittees will meet when issues of importance arrise to evaluate and monitor issues and action items in their respective areas. Each subcommittee is required to provide a written report to the Safety Committee quarterly.



Regulatory and Hazmat Environmental Compliance
Co-chairs: Jason Camara and Joe Nugent
Membership: Rachel Mayo and Tasha Sturm

Goals and Objectives

  • Training
  • Emergency Preparedness
  • Policy suggestions to Governing Board
  • Information dissemination
  • Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) Repository


  • Regulatory Agency Annual Reporting
  • HazMat



Safety, Health & Injury
Co-chairs: Katie Dowling, Michelle Donohue, Sue Torres
Membership: Rachel Mayo, Derek Fenster, Tasha Sturm and Laura Hunerberg (Student Rep)

Goals and Objectives

  • Training
  • Emergency Preparedness
  • Information Dissemination



    • Security and Safety Issues
    • Smoking Policy
    • Student and Employee Injury Reporting
    • Injury and Illness Prevention Program (IIPP)



Emergency Disaster Preparedness
Co-chairs: Joe Nugent and Oscar Guillen
Membership: Jason Camara, Michelle Donohue, Rachel Mayo, and Laura Hunerberg (student rep)

Goals and Objectives

  • Emergency Response Plan
  • Ongoing Training and Documentation


  • Emergency trainings and updates
  • SIMS/NEMS compliance requirements
  • Emergency Info distribution (via phone system)




    Was this page helpful?   
Just Report It   Ask Cabrillo   WebAdvisor   Cabrillo Library   Cabrillo Bookstore   Canvas icon   Facebook Icon Twitter Icon YouTube

© 2019 Cabrillo Community College District

Campus Safety | Accessibility | Title IX

Main Campus, 6500 Soquel Drive Aptos CA 95003, 831.479.6100