Events on the Cabrillo Astronomy Calendar

As of Sept 22, 2018. Check out past events here.

Asteroid Occ Predictions: Steve Preston's , Derek Breit's , Calif Path Maps , SF Extra Event , Brad Timerson's , Report Template

Software: Using AVIsynth , TANGRA , Making Aladin Finder Charts , Limiting Mag , Registax and Occ Video

Making C2A Charts , Aladin Photo Charts , 2-star Alignment of LX200gps , YouTube IOTA Videos

My "HowTo" on Reducing Asteroid Occultations , Reported Asteroid Occulations

Equipment: Watec 910HX , my Watec Tests , Video astrometry , PC165DNR , Video recording , Using 8SE/Video/VTI 2nd Unit

South Bay Grazes , SF Grazes , Lunar Phases , Driving Distance Calculator , Remote Control of PC165DNR , Atmospheric Extinction vs Altitude=.4/sin(a) mags

Free WiFi hotspots in California , Comet /DSO Photo Op's
M67 Mag Chart , ToBuy

Cabrillo College Observatory ClearSkyClock    5-day forecast

Sept 25 Tue eve 7:39pm - Occultation of 9.4 by Ivar - planning page , from Santa Cruz - have class meet at entrance to Long Marine Labet. Instructions for "2nd Unit" scope/video users

Sept 26 Wed eve 8:05pm - Occultation of 12.7 star by Lagrangea, 32 alt, observe from UCSC GrayWhale.
Sept 26 Wed eve 8:23pm
- Occultation of 12.3 by 13.5 Iduna, from Carrizo Plain and Los Banos, high rank

Sept 27 Thur morn 2am - Occultation of 12.4 star by 13.0 Vienna, from southern end of Carrizo Plain, high rank.

Sep 29 Sat morn 3am - Occultation of 11.8 by Carnegia from Russian River

Sep 30 Sun morn 4am - Occultation of 12.7 by Gersuind, from Half Moon Bay and San Jose, but mediocre rank, 18 deg from moon.

Oct 12 Fri morn 3am - Occultation of 12.3 by Hildrun, from Santa Cruz, mediocre rank. Right before leaving for Astro25
Oct 12-14 - Fri-Sunday
- Astro 25 "Field Astronomy in the California Mountains" course. at Stanislaus River/California Caverns

Oct 18 Thur eve - Graze of 3.7 Gamma Cap from Mojave Desert.

Oct 21 Sun eve 8:09pm - Occultation of 13.1 by Duboshin, poor rank. Try from home

Oct 23 Tue morn 3:23am - Occultation of 13.0 by Lictoria, 46 alt, med rank 39% odds from home on Southern Limit.

Nov 4 Sunday 4am - Occultation of 10.9 from Joseph Grant park near Lick. Weekend astro + ride to Lick??

Oct 28 Sun morn 1:23am - Occultation of 13.4 by Bertolda 19 deg up, tough!

Nov 16 Fri 3-5pm NAS Div meeting

2019

Jan 20 Sun eve - Total Lunar eclipse graze from Pt Reyes Hostel of 7.8 star during totality

Feb 9 Sat eve - Graze of 7.3 8 deg alt, from Cabrillo Observatory. Maybe special exped for Astro 8A?

Feb 12 Tue eve - Graze of 8.6 1.1s of 53% moon. At Pigeon Pt and also at Summit Store on Highland. Good Astro 8A expedition

Feb 27 Wed morn 4:44am - Graze of 4.4 13s of 39- moon from South Lake Tahoe. Would require perhaps x-ing Wed morn Astro 3 class

Mar 13 Wed eve - Graze of 6.8 1.1s of 47+ moon from Fremont Peak

Apr 6 Sat eve at twilight - Graze of 7.6 star 13s of 3+ moon, alt=9, sun-8. From Hollister, and Mineral King

Apr 20 Sat 12:30am - Occultation of 12.1 by Marghanna, in Central California

Jun 14 11:40pm - Occultation of 12.1 by Saskia somewhere near Carrizo Plain

Jul 11 Thur 1:11am - Occultation of 10.7 by Rosalia, Pt Reyes??

Jul 15 Sun 10:30pm - Occultation of 11.9 but full moon 13 deg away.

Aug 6 Tue 1:12am - Occultation of 10.2 by Bothua

Aug 9 Fri 1:19am - Occultation of 11.8 by Eugenia 11.5

Aug 25 Sun 4:40am - Graze of 3.0 Zeta Tauri 12n 30- moon from 55N of Lassen, 55s of Eureka.

Sept 22 8am - Graze of 2.9 Mu Geminorum by 45- moon 4.4n from 30n of Hat Creek - May be good choice for Astro 25 Fall course

Nov 29 5:53pm Fri eve - Graze of 5.5 6s of 13+ moon, from 13n Pinnacles

Dec 4 8:00pm Wed eve - Graze of 6.9 10s 58+ moon 41alt, from Locatelli Meadow

Dec 11 2:00am Wed morn - Graze of 3.5 Epsilon Tauri 11n 99% moon, from Fremont Peak

 

back to Rick's home page