Physics "Nobel Prizes" Page

Cabrillo Physics Home

These prizes are awarded to lab groups for exceptional thoughtfulness, creativity or elegance in experimental design or analysis.

To receive an award, you must invent something original that really stands out and is directly connected with the lab exercise.

Examples might be:

The judging will be somewhat subjective, and will have to do with how impressed John is by your effort and creativity.
To get a group award, all members of the group must understand the invention - (I may ask any member of the group to explain it.)

Here are the most recent Nobel Prize Winners:

Christopher Hedges, Francisco Piña Antonio Lippa
Physics 11, Spring 2016

Predicting and testing the idea that a balloon can be blown up by pulling out the surrounding air.


Tim Holt
Physics 4C, Spring 2016

Designing an experiment to investigate why the double slit interference pattern
doesn't go to zero in between fringes.


Stephanie Striegel, Miles Deane Howell, Ian Watts
Physics 4B, Fall 2015

Using dimensional analysis and experimentation to discover the formula for the reactance of a capacitor.


Jules Granick, Cierra Costello, Aren Pageler
(Their 2nd Nobel Prize!)
Physics 10 Lab, Fall 2015

Designing and conducting an experiment to test the prediction
that doubling the voltage on a light bulb will make it four times brighter.


Jules Granick, Cierra Costello, Katie Freeman, Aren Pageler
Physics 10 Lab, Fall 2015

Going above and beyond the lab activity by making predictions
about the behavior of water in a balloon and testing out their predictions.



(click here to see previous years' winners)